Gluten

sources-of-gluten.jpg

Gluten is a protein found in wheat and related grains in the wheat family like barley, rye, spelt, faro and bulgur.  Foods made from wheat such as breads, cereals and pasta, contain gluten.  Most people enjoy products that contain gluten without any side effects.  A small group of people may have a gluten intolerance or allergy.  For those individuals who have been diagnosed by a doctor with a gluten sensitivity, there are numerous gluten-free pasta options which allow them to enjoy a wide variety of pasta dishes.

Individuals who do not have gluten sensitivities derive no nutritional benefit from eating gluten-free pasta and will find that traditional enriched pastas provide good nutrient value, such as iron, folic acid and vitamin B.

Have more nutrition questions? Try our general FAQ page or you can ask one of our experts.   You can also visit www.gowiththegrain.org for more information on grains and gluten.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s